Latest Full List of SOYA Award winners 2015

Safaricom Enterprise Business Unit General Manager Sylvia Mulinge presents the Sportsman of the year 2015 award to Julius Yego.


IAAF 2015 Men’s Javelin Champion, 27-year-old Julius Yego is the Overall 2015 Safaricom Sports Personality of the Year.

Yego who won the 4th furthest throw of 92.72m in Javelin – a first national and African record – is also the sportsman of year while HyvinKiyeng is the 2015 sportswoman of  His exemplary performance in 2015 saw him become the first African towing a Javelin world title at the IAAF World Championships held in Beijing, China.

Other winners include;


1. Overall Sports Personality: Julius Yego – Javelin

2. Sportsman of the Year: Julius Yego – Javelin

3. Sportswoman of the Year: Hyvin Kiyeng – Athletics

4. Outstanding Performance: Nicholas Bett – Athletics

5. Evergreen Award: Ezekiel Kemboi – Athletics 6.

Sports Team of the Year Men: Gor Mahia – Football 7.

Sports Team of the Year Women: The Malkia Strikers – Volleyball

8. Sportswoman with a Disability: Susan Gatwiri – Athletics

9. Sportsman with a Disability: Onesmus Mutinda – Special Olympic

10.Most Promising Boy: Kumari Taki – Athletics

11.Most Promising Girl: Agnes Tirop – Athletics

12.Federation of the Year: Kenya Volleyball Federation – retained this award

13.Coach of the year: David Lung‟aho – Volleyball

14.Community Hero: Ednah Rotich – Volleyball

15.Comeback Award: Lawrence Buyachi – Rugby

Schools Category 

1. School Team of the Year – Boys: Laiser Hill Academy – Rugby

2. School Team of the Year – Girls: Sinyolo Girls – Hockey

3. School Coach of the Year: Kelvin Lugalia – St. Antony Boys – Hockey

4. Most Outstanding Performance (Schools) – Boys: David Parisitau – Ngoleni  Secodary – Athletics

5. Most Outstanding Performance (Schools) –

Girls: Judy Nkatha – Shadrack  Kimalel Secondary –

Tennis Hall of Fame Inductees

1. Violet Barasa (late) – Volleyball

2. Brian Hawkins (late) – Shooting

3. John Mucheru (late) – Golf

SOYA Founder, Paul Tergat, praised the sports men and women nominated for the awards and urged them to keep pushing to breaking their own record each day.

“When you do your best within the right parameters and with discipline, you implore others to work as hard, to reap the benefits of clean sports. It has to be clean sports as short-cuts will only land you in trouble,” he said.

Also speaking at the ceremony, Cabinet Secretary for Sports Culture and the Arts, Dr. Hassan Wario.He lauded the sports personalities honored at the event for their great performance and called upon all sports men and women to embrace clean sports.

“It is a shame that despite being world champions in 2015, this great achievement is being watered down by those associated with doping; people who are selfishly seeking quick gains at the cost of honest, clean sports men and women. This should stop and stop now,” he stressed.

He praised the move by the organizers of the fete led by SOYA Founder, Paul Tergat to promote good sports under the theme “Take Responsibility, Stay Clean” and promised Government support in curbing this vice.

The 12th edition of the awards was sponsored by Safaricom, M-cheza, Kenya Tourism Board, Super Sport, Multichoice, Communications Authority of Kenya, Kenya Airways, Villa Rosa Kempsinski and Brookside Dairies.


About the Author

Trust is my currency, biscuits are my best snacks. A business story by me that has sparked change, informed and made a positive difference is what makes me going. I yearn to achieve more through writing Reach me via